gts insights

Sustainable humanitarian work and why gts is committed to it

"When crises become perpetual, support must also become steady and sustainable." Under this motto, the international relief and development organisation Oxfam has drawn attention to the emergency situation in East Africa and called for help.

As part of Oxfam's Entrepreneurs for Entrepreneurs support network, this issue is particularly close to our hearts. Therefore, we would like to draw attention to it again - and as a member of the network, do our part for sustainable support.

Sankuus at dried wells - Wajir Drought. Credit: Khadija Farah/Oxfam

By 2021, a total of 14.3 million East Africans had to leave their homes due to the effects of the climate crisis. Vital crops and pastures were destroyed by droughts and floods, and food prices rose dramatically.

The regions of Kenya, Somalia and Ethiopia are particularly affected by water scarcity. Preventive measures are no longer sufficient here; long-term solutions are needed. Therefore, Oxfam is currently concentrating on the rehabilitation of existing water supply systems.

On the other hand, floods are destroying the homes of many people in South Sudan. Here Oxfam is providing aid in three affected regions, including the distribution of emergency kits for the treatment and safe storage of water, as well as the provision of menstrual hygiene items for women and young girls.

Sustainability is the focus of Oxfam's humanitarian work

Why sustainable solutions are so important can be seen in the example of Gambela:

Around 370,00 refugees from South Sudan live in the Ethiopian region. Six years ago, Oxfam joined forces with other humanitarian organisations to set up water supply systems for the refugee camps there.

Six years later, the situation in Gambela has already improved: three camps share the water of the supply system "Itang Water Scheme". Returning to South Sudan is not an option, as all livelihoods there have been destroyed.

Nevertheless, the supply to the camps remains fragile, as it is mainly ensured through short-term humanitarian funding. The next important milestone is the takeover of the water supply by a state-owned company. The revenue from the provision of clean water would enable it to operate the local infrastructure sustainably. Thus, the system could be operated independently of external aid in the long term.

gts has supported for many years

East Africa is just one of many countries and regions where Oxfam is fighting poverty and social inequality. In order to help the people in the long term, they need to be independent - and also stand on their own two feet economically.

For seven years now, we have been supporting the organisation as part of the entrepreneurial network, which helps people to overcome poverty and injustice through their own efforts with sustainable solutions.

Here you can find more information about Oxfam and how you can help: https://www.oxfam.de/

Sustainable humanitarian work and why gts is committed to it - gts systems
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

gts insights

Nachhaltige humanitäre Arbeit und warum gts sich dafür einsetzt

„Wenn sich Krisen verstetigen, muss auch die Unterstützung stetig und nachhaltig werden.“ Unter diesem Motto hat die internationale Nothilfe- und Entwicklungsorganisation Oxfam auf die Notsituation in Ostafrika aufmerksam gemacht und zur Hilfe aufgerufen.

Als Teil des Oxfam-Fördernetzwerks “Unternehmer für Unternehmer” liegt uns dieses Thema besonders am Herzen. Daher möchten wir erneut darauf aufmerksam machen – und als Mitglied des Netzwerks unseren Teil für eine nachhaltige Unterstützung beitragen.

Sankuus at dried wells - Wajir Drought. Credit: Khadija Farah/Oxfam

Im Jahr 2021 mussten insgesamt 14,3 Millionen Ostafrikaner*innen ihre Heimat aufgrund der Auswirkungen der Klimakrise verlassen. Lebenswichtige Ernten und Weideflächen wurden durch Dürren und Überflutungen zerstört und die Lebensmittelpreise stiegen dramatisch an.

Die Regionen Kenia, Somalia und Äthiopien sind besonders stark von der Wasserknappheit betroffen. Hier reichen präventive Maßnahmen nicht mehr aus, es sind langfristige Lösungen gefragt. Daher konzentriert sich Oxfam momentan vor allem auf die Sanierung bestehender Wasserversorgungssysteme.

Auf der anderen Seite zerstören Fluten und Überschwemmungen die Heimat vieler Menschen im Südsudan. Hier leistet Oxfam in drei betroffenen Regionen Hilfe, unter anderem durch die Verteilung von Nothilfesets zur Aufbereitung und sicheren Lagerung von Wasser, sowie der Bereitstellung von Menstruationshygiene-Artikeln für Frauen und junge Mädchen.

Nachhaltigkeit steht im Fokus von Oxfams humanitärer Arbeit

Warum nachhaltige Lösungen so wichtig sind, sieht man am Beispiel von Gambela:

In der äthiopischen Region leben rund 370.00 Geflüchtete aus dem Südsudan. Vor sechs Jahren hat Oxfam dort gemeinsam mit anderen humanitären Organisationen Wasserversorgungssysteme für die Flüchtlingscamps aufgebaut.

Sechs Jahre später hat sich die Situation in Gambela schon verbessert: Drei Camps teilen sich das Wasser des Zuleitungssystems „Itang Water Scheme“. Die Rückkehr in den Südsudan ist keine Option, da dort alle Lebensgrundlagen zerstört wurden.

Dennoch bleibt die Versorgung der Camps fragil, da sie hauptsächlich über kurzfristig angelegte humanitäre Finanzierungen sichergestellt wird. Der nächste wichtige Meilenstein ist die Übernahme der Wasserversorgung durch einen staatlichen Betrieb. Durch die Einnahmen aus der Bereitstellung von sauberem Wasser wäre dieser in der Lage, die örtliche Infrastruktur nachhaltig zu betreiben. Somit könnte das System langfristig unabhängig von externer Hilfe betrieben werden.

gts unterstützt seit vielen Jahren

Ostafrika ist nur eins von vielen Ländern und Regionen, in denen Oxfam gegen Armut und soziale Ungleichheit kämpft. Damit den Menschen langfristig geholfen werden kann, müssen diese unabhängig sein – und auch wirtschaftlich auf eigenen Beinen stehen.

Seit bereits sieben Jahren unterstützen wir die Organisation im Rahmen des Unternehmernetzwerks, welches den Menschen hilft, mit nachhaltigen Lösungen Armut und Ungerechtigkeit aus eigener Kraft zu überwinden.

Hier finden Sie mehr Informationen zu Oxfam und wie Sie helfen können: https://www.oxfam.de/

Nachhaltige humanitäre Arbeit und warum gts sich dafür einsetzt - gts systems
Warning: sprintf(): Too few arguments in /homepages/18/d859969311/htdocs/clickandbuilds/gtssystems767079/wp-includes/general-template.php on line 3119
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner